button donate   facebook mctwitter mcyoutube mcinstagram mc 

The 202nd Convention of the Diocese of Maine 

diome logo 02222021

"Go forth with hope and grace"

Hebrews 4:16 NRSV:  Let us therefore approach the throne of grace with boldness, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

Saturday, October 23, 2021
- Online -
9:00 am - 1:00 pm 




Please review this list of delegates that have been certified as of September: List of Delegates. If you have any changes, please request an official change form via email to Teresa Pinney by October 1, the deadline for such changes.  


Convention will vote to fill these open positions in 2021: 
Secretary (1) - one year term
Standing Committee - Clergy (1) - three year term
Standing Committee - Lay (1) - three year term
Treasurer (1) - one year term
Provincial Conference (formerly Synod) - Clergy Deputy (1) - two year term
Provincial Conference - Clergy Alternate Deputy (1) - two year term
Provincial Conference - Lay Deputy (1) - two year term
Provincial Conference- Lay Alternate Deputy (1) - two year term
Disciplinary Board - Clergy Representative (1) - two year term
Please use this Nominations for Diocesan Leaders form to nominate yourself or someone else. Submission deadline is October 1. Elections will take place at Convention.


Area Redesign Map

The diocese will vote for clergy representatives from each of our six new Areas. Review the new Area structure here or click to expand the map you see to your left. Learn more about Diocesan Council here
Please use this Diocesan Council Nomination form to nominate yourself or another clergy person from Areas A-F. The submission deadline is October 1. 
Elections will take place at the upcoming Pre-Covention Town Hall on Tuesday, October 12 at 5pm.


The proposed budget for 2022 will be posted here soon.

A budget presentation will take place at Tuesday night Town Hall on Tuesday, September 28 at 5pm and an invitation will be emailed to all diocesan leaders, clergy, and delegates.



The submission period for proposed resolutions ended September 1. Resolutions received are now being reviewed by the Resolutions Committee, and/or the Committee on Canons, if the resolution involves a change to our governing policy. 
Once reviewed and finalized, resolutions will be posted here. Resolutions will be presented at an upcoming Town Hall. Stay tuned for exact details!  


For our online Convention, only voting members of convention (lay delegates, canonically resident clergy, clergy in charge of congregations, committee members/volunteers) need to register. Please note: alternate lay delegates should not register.
Required registration will open the week before convention. It is necessary to register in order to receive the link to join us on Zoom.
Non-voting members can participate in convention via our social media channels. More details to come. 


Planning Team
Holly Sargent, St. George's, York Harbor (Chair)
Rev. Dave Dalzell, Trinity, Saco
Steve Mine, Church of the Good Shepherd, Houlton
Seth Stewart, All Saints by the Sea, Southport
Resolutions Team
Marge Kilkelly, Christ Church, Gardiner (Chair)
John Atwood, St. Giles, Jefferson
Lis Ingoldsby, St. Brendan the Navigator, Deer Isle
Rev. Calvin Sanborn
Tracy Shaffer, St. Dunstan's, Ellsworth
Worship Team
Rev. Brent Was, St. Francis by the Sea, Blue Hill (Chair)
Robert Ludwig, Church of the Good Shepherd, Rangeley
Rev. Ryan Mails, St. George's, York Harbor
Rev. George Sheats, St. Michael's, Auburn




Pray for the convention’s work supporting diocesan mission and ministry. Suggested prayers are in the Book of Common Prayer on pages 817-18.
For more information, contact Canon Barbara Martin via email or at 207.772.1953 x 125.






143 State Street (mail to PO Box 4036) | Portland, ME 04101-4036 | Phone: (207) 772-1953 |