Last Updated


The Episcopal Church in New England

The Diocese of Maine is part of the Episcopal Church in New England (Province I) which coordinates the interdependent ministries of the seven dioceses in a spirit of mutual responsibility to coordinate information, share resources, and make connections to work for God’s mission in the world, restoring people to unity with God and each other in Christ.

We are one of the nine provinces in The Episcopal Church.  Visit the Province 1 website for events, news, and ministry network information at Province I.

Province 1 consists of the seven New England dioceses of The Episcopal Church:

If you’re an Episcopalian in one of those dioceses, Province 1 is YOU.  Together, we represent a broad spectrum of rural, urban and suburban parishes with a great diversity in ethnic and racial cultures, church size, liturgical style and theological perspectives.

The Conference of the Province (formerly Synod) consists of the House of Deputies and the House of Bishops. Lay and clergy Deputies are elected, two from each diocese, and all New England bishops are members. These two Houses come together at least once each year to further the work of the Church and regulate all business of the Province.

Maine’s Representatives to Provincial Conference

Ted Fletcher, First Lay Deputy (2021- 2023)
Eligible for Re-election in 2023

John Hennessy, Lay Alternate (2022-2023)
Eligible for Re-election in 2023

Rev. Lisa Fry, Clergy Deputy (2022-2023)
Eligible for Re-election in 2023

Vacant, Clergy Alternate (2022-2023)