Clergy Formation Committee 

Clergy Retreat 

More information about the 2021 retreat TBA 

About the Clergy Formation Committee 

The newly created Clergy Formation Committee (formerly Clergy Day Committee) needs four new members (presbyters and deacons) to join us in our work of offering opportunities to enrich the ongoing formation, education, collegiality, and spirituality of the Diocese of Maine’s clergy community.
All members serve for three (3) years. The committee meets on the second Thursday of the month at 12:30 pm for 1 hour (currently via Zoom), with subcommittees meeting at other times when needed. You would begin your service on the committee at the January 14, 2021 meeting.
The committee plans and executes four annual events:
  • A clergy retreat of 1-2 days, often in Lent, to sustain and enrich our prayer life and spirituality.
  • Two (2) clergy days, one in the autumn and one in late spring, to worship, learn, and nourish our collegiality.
  • A third clergy day, often led by the bishop, designed to integrate continuing education and spiritual formation with the ministry and strategic mission of the Diocese of Maine and the Episcopal Church.
If you would like to nominate yourself or someone you know (with their permission) for this committee, please send an e-mail to Rev. Claudia Smith and/or Suzannah Rohman  the co-chairs of the committee, by Wednesday, December 9. The committee will consider all nominations at their December 10 meeting. Claudia and Suzannah are also happy to answer any questions you might have about the committee whose current members are listed below. 


Term ending December 2021
The Rev. Bill Blaine-Wallace
The Rev. Gail Chandler
The Rev. Peggy Day
The Rev. John Balicki
Term ending December 2022
The Rev. Claudia Smith, Co-Chair
The Rev. Suzannah Rohman, Co-Chair
The Ven. Aaron Perkins
The Rev. Rita Steadman

143 State Street (mail to PO Box 4036) | Portland, ME 04101 | Phone: (207) 772-1953 |