A Brief History of the Church of the Advent, Limestone, Maine
The Church of the Advent will be closing its doors after a very rich history. In the late 1860s several acres were donated by a local landowner to establish a congregation and in 1872, the Episcopal Church (Church of England by way of Canada) answered the call and the Church of the Advent was organized. The present structure was built in 1881 from trees donated by “a devoted Anglican in the community, who insisted the best oak be used” (the archives of the Episcopal Diocese of Maine). The pews, kneelers, railing, and walls were constructed with square, hand-forged nails, and the church bell - used by the town as a firemen’s call for generations – was a gift given to the Church in 1890 from an Anglican Church in New Brunswick. During the winter of 1897, the congregation moved the structure with horses and sleighs to its present location.
In 1947, the church became part of the Aroostook Mission. Along with other parishes in our state’s northeast corner, Advent’s pastors were priests from the Society of Saint John the Evangelist, a monastic community of lay and ordained men based now in Cambridge, Massachusetts.
Read a letter from Bishop Brown (12 September 2019) here.