button donate   facebook mctwitter mcyoutube mcinstagram mc 


198th Convention of the Diocese of Maine

 “Jesus is here, right here, right now”

 Saturday, October 28, 2017
Cross Insurance Center, Bangor
2017 Journal of the 198th Convention of the Diocese of Maine
 The delegation from St. Michael's, Auburn
Read Bishop Stephen T. Lane's
Video below
The 2018 Budget passed as presented.
The 199th Diocesan Convention will be held on Saturday, October 27, 2018 at USM in Portland.
Romans 13:9-12  The commandments, You shouldn't commit adultery, you shouldn't murder, you shouldn't steal, you shouldn't desire what others have, and any other commandments, are all summed up in one word: You should love your neighbor as yourself. Love doesn't do anything wrong to a neighbor; therefore love is what fulfills the Law. As you do all this, you know what time it is. The hour has already come for you to wake up from your sleep. Now our salvation is nearer than when we first had faith. The night is almost over, and the day is near. 
The Convention Booklet is below to view or download as one document or individual documents:
Resolutions may be downloaded here.
Resolutions 1 and 2: Canonical changes passed without discussion
Resolutions 3: Clerical Compensation for 2018 passed without discussion
Resolution 4: Lay Compensation for 2018 passed 175 yes, 66 no. Discussion focused on the strain that a minimum hourly wage of $13.00 places of churches in part of the state that struggle economically. The example of the wage earned by thrift shop staff employed by St. Augustine, Dover-Foxcroft would raise the prices of items sold. Other concerns centered on the distinction between how clergy compensation is determined (based on local education salary data) and how lay compensation is determined (a flat statewide rate.) When the question was called, the resolution passed.
Resolution 5: Concerning the Forteiture of Union with St. Barnabas, Augusta, passed with out discussion. Bishop Lane described the process by which St. Barnabas has joined together in worship and ministry with St. Matthew's, Hallowell, over the past two years. The forteiture marks the end of 125 years of St. Barnabas as a mission church in Augusta and celebrates the new life of the parish of Saints Matthew and Barnabas, Hallowell. St. Barnabas Warden Su Locsin spoke eloquently about the process of joining together.
Resolution 6: Concerning the Discernment, Election, and Consecration of the Tenth Bishop of Maine passed without discussion from the floor. Learn more about the search for the next Bishop of Maine here. 
Substitute Resolution 7a: Support of the Holy Land's Children, a resolution submitted by the Episcopal Peace Fellowship was withdrawn and the following Substitute Resolution #7 was presented to Convention. After considerable discussion, it passed. 

Resolved, that we of the Episcopal Diocese of Maine, assembled in our 198th Convention, direct the Maine Deputation to General Convention (GC) to propose to the 79th GC of The Episcopal Church that it ask the Israeli Prime Minister and the President of the Palestinian Authority to provide assurances that their Governments will accord those under 18 years of age, i.e., those defined as children under the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of the Child, the full range of rights and protections called for under the international agreements to which they have subscribed. 

And be it further resolved, that we direct the Maine Deputation to propose that the 79th GC call upon the President and Members of Congress to persuade the Israeli and Palestinian leaderships to sustain their commitments to international law with regard to children’s rights and welfare, and that they ensure that children held in custody will not, as has often been alleged, be subjected to coercion, physical or psychological abuse, or torture. 

And be it further resolved, that this Diocesan Convention directs the Maine Deputation to the GC to invite Deputations from New England and other States to sign on to this resolution.

Election Results
Secretary (1 year term) - Ms Leigh Spahr, St. Patrick's, Brewer
Treasurer (1 year term) - Mr. Richard Rozene, St. Ann's, Windham
Standing Committee–Clergy (3 year term) The Rev. Sara Gavit, St. Anne's, Calais
Standing Committee–Lay (3 year term) Mr. Douglas Mayer, St. Margaret's, Belfast
Disciplinary Board–Clergy (3 year term) The Rev. Lawrence Weeks, Trinity Church, Portland
Provincial Synod–Lay Alternate Deputy (2 year term) No election, Ms Elizabeth Hall, Christ Church, Gardiner will serve ex officio 
Provincial Synod–Clerical Deputy (2 year term) The Ven. Aaron Perkins, St. George's, York Harbor
Trustee of Diocesan Funds (4 year term)  Mr. Kenneth Barrett, St. George's, York Harbor; The Rev. Timothy Boggs, St. Alban's, Cape Elizabeth; and Mr. Nathaniel Henshaw, St. Paul's, Brunswick. Read about the Trustees here.  
Clerical respresentatives to Diocesan Council elected at Area Caucases for a two-year term
Area 1: The Rev. Ginny Urbanek, Good Shepherd, Houlton
Area 2: The Rev. John Allison, Church of Our Father, Hulls Cove
Area 3: The Rev. Kevin Holsapple, St. Augustine's, Dover-Foxcroft, and St. John's, Brownville Junction
Area 4: The Rev. Beau Wagner, St. Matthew's, Lisbon Falls
Area 5: The Rev. John Balicki, St. Mark's, Waterville
Area 6: The Rev. Lael Sorensen, St. Peter's, Rockland
Area 7: The Rev. Suzanne Roberts, St. Luke's, Portland
Area 8: The Rev. Gail Chandler, St. David's, Kennebunk 
Convention Planning Committee
The Rev. Carolyn Eklund, St. Paul's, Brunswick, Chair; The Rev. Sara Gavit, St. Anne's, Calais; Ms Pam Green, Trinity, Portland; The Rev. John Nieman, St. Andrew's, Newcastle; Mr. Mark Spahr, St. Patrick's, Brewer; Mr. Jack Swanton, Cathedral of St. Luke, Portland; Ms Rachel Zoller, St. Andrew's, Newcastle; Ms Barbara Martin, Diocese of Maine, Staff Liaison 

143 State Street (mail to PO Box 4036) | Portland, ME 04101-4036 | Phone: (207) 772-1953 |