button donate   facebook mctwitter mcyoutube mcinstagram mc 


 197th Convention of the Diocese of Maine

"Going Local, Joining God" 

Saturday, October 22, 2016
University of Southern Maine  

2016 Journal of the 197th Convention



Secretary (1 year term) - Leigh Spahr, St. Patrick's, Brewer
Treasurer (1 year term) elect one - Dick Rozene - St. Ann's, Windham
Standing Committee–Clergy (3 year term) - Tim Higgins, St. Ann's, Windham
Standing Committee–Lay (3 year term) - Charles Priest, St. Paul's, Brunswick
Disciplinary Board–Lay (3 year term) - Elise Magnuson, St. Luke's, Portland
Provincial Synod–Lay Deputy (2 year term) - Rita Redfield, St. Andrew and St. John, Southwest Harbor
Provincial Synod–Clerical Alternate Deputy (2 year term) - Sheila Seekins, St. John Baptist, Thomaston
General Convention Deputation 
Lay Deputies
  Elizabeth Hall - Christ Church, Gardiner
  Elizabeth Ring - St. Bart's, Yarmouth
  Dick Rozene - St. Ann's Windham
  John Hennessy - St. Luke's, Portland
Clerical Deputies
  Nina Pooley, St. Bart's, Yarmouth
  Mary Lee Wile, St. Paul's, Brunswick
  Calvin Sanborn, St. George's, York Harbor
  Ben Shambaugh, St. Luke's, Portland
Lay Alternates
  Mark Spahr - St. Patrick's, Brewer
  Daniel Summers - St. George's, York Harbor
Clerical Alternates
  Maria Hoecker - St. Columba's, Boothbay Harbor
  Nathan Ferrell - St. Mary's, Falmouth
  John Van Siclen 
Trustee of Diocesan Funds (4 year term) 
  Lawrence E. Dwight
  Elizabeth T. McCandless 
Diocesan Council Nominations for Area Lay Representatives 
Area 1 - Aroostook  - Nancy Mooers, Good Shepherd, Houlton
Area 2 - Hancock/Washington - Liz Graves, St. Dunstan's, Ellsworth
Area 3 - Piscataquis/Penobscot - Mark Spahr, St. Patrick's, Brewer
Area 4 - Franklin/Oxford/Androscoggin - Peter Bickford, Christ Church, Norway
Area 5 - Kennebec/Somerset - Tom Ward, St. Andrew's, Winthrop
Area 6 - Sagadahoc/Lincoln/Knox/Waldo - Judith Cox, St. Margaret's, Belfast
Area 7 - Cumberland - Kim Wallace, St. Ann's, Windham
Area 8 - York - Jason Briggs, Trinity, Saco 


All resolutions passed as submitted. 
*Resolutions (eight pages)

2017 Budget

Here's a handy single sheet budget graphic to share with your congregation.

Convention Booklet

Materials to download:
(Those marked with an asterisk are recommended to have on-hand - either hard copy of downloaded onto a phone, tablet, or laptop - to refer to during Convention.)

 Convention Planning Committee  

The Rev. Carolyn Eklund, St. Paul's, Brunswick, Chair; Mr. Mark Spahr, St. Patrick's, Brewer; The Rev. Laura Peckham, St. Martin's, Palmyra; Mr. Jack Swanton, Cathedral of St. Luke, Portland; The Very Rev. Ben Shambaugh, Cathedral of St. Luke, Portland; Ms Pam Green, Trinity, Portland; Ms Rachel Zoller, St. Andrew's, Newcastle; Ms Barbara Martin, Diocese of Maine, Staff Liaison 

143 State Street (mail to PO Box 4036) | Portland, ME 04101-4036 | Phone: (207) 772-1953 |